Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls – A beautiful Country. Great Japan.

Again I know nothing about this series. But I must say that it will probably be one of my favorite series of the year. And not because of what they did to Sanada Yukimura.

I’m about 50 seconds in, and already I’ve had quite a funny line (See title above). But now I am being bombarded by a awesome chick slicing up what I can only assume are the planes that dropped the nukes on Japan during the 2nd world war. If I haven’t already told you yet, I get quite a boner for historical fiction. Especially for ones that portray the Axis (Germany, Italy, and Japan) as the winners. Although I am probably assuming to much right now.

The art style does look like this throughout the episode. And I must say it looks really really good. I think I might recommend this series on the art style alone. This is also one of the reasons why I’d recommend buying the blu-ray versions. Don’t worry all the female characters still look moe. Now they just look more awesome and moe.

Just a quick note here, I’d like to add. Sanada, Yukimura is voiced by Kugimiya, Rie. Excuse me while I go freak out. *Freaks out on #SankakuComplex* Ahem. Back to the review.

As far as the first half of the episode goes, our main character has yet to be named. Being nameless does make him quite interesting. At first I thought he might be Nobunaga Oda (Hes not). It’s also quite a relief to finally see a MALE MAIN character instead of being bombarded by endless girls that all look the same. His personality is the typical shonen style, Open to everyone/everything and with a big heart. The kind of character everyone should be able to enjoy. He’s a Hero.

Hanzou Hattori Vision

Other characters introduced so far are Sanada, Yukimura (Voiced by Kugimiya, Rie), Matabei, Gotou (Voiced by Kobayashi, Yuu), Hanzou, Hattori (Voiced by Gotou, Saori), and Tokugawa, Sen (Voiced by Kotobuki, Minako). Sanada is your typical tsun-lolita-type. Matabei, is your quite yet clumsy type with huge boobs. Hanzou is a Masochist, while Sen is the Sadist to Hanzou’s M. Nothing spectacular about these characters, but they’re all quite common in your ‘Harem’ style animes.

At the end of the episode we are introduced to Yagyuu, Jubei (Voiced by Yuuki, Aoi). So far all I’ve figured out is that she calls the main character onii-chan (Hawt), kisses him, explodes into a white light, and then becomes really badass. Next episode however she will probably become some sort of shy timid girl. As is standard in these kind of series.

If I had to give this series a score out of 10 (Which I am obligated to by the laws of the Internet) I would have to give it a 9, “Quite good, something unique about, or at least something memorable”.

2 Responses

  1. >If I had to give this series a score out of 10 (Which I am obligated to by the laws of the Internet) I would have to give it a 9, “Quite good, something unique about, or at least something memorable”.

    If the girl in the 4th pic (not the left one) will strip at some point, then count me in.

  2. icy-sama <3

Leave a Reply

