Bakuman – The first episode is always the easist

Please bare with me as I try my hand at reviewing a series that has just started airing. I really have no idea how I’m going to structure thing so let’s just write down what I think as it comes to me. Also I know nothing about this series.

HEROES ARE KEWL.

Then the actual opening played and I was disappointed.

F i r s t I m p r e s s i o n s

This first episode is called ‘Truth and Reality’. Probably because the main character will learn that the ‘truth’ is that manga artists don’t make a lot of money, and the ‘reality’ is that following your dreams will make you a laughing stock. Oh by the way I’m using gg fansubs for this episode. Why? Because they were first, and they have never failed me. EVER.

C h a r a c t e r s

Anyways the main character (Mashiro, Moritaka, voiced by Abe, Atsushi) seems boring. Theres a girl he likes secretly but is to afraid to talk to her, and he has a secret hidden talent (power) that no one in his life knows about (assuming he uses a fake name when he enters artist competitions). Pretty standard shonen main character.

The second main character introduced (Akito Takagi, voiced by Hino, Satoshi) isn’t extremely interesting, but he does seem to be much more enjoyable. Actually ignore that, hes much more interesting. From what I’ve just learned hes incredibly smart, but wants to write manga (Not assuming all mangaka are retards). I can relate to this character much more now because I’ve always wanted to write manga (or fictional stories in general). I have a feeling that Akito Takagi will be one of my favorite characters in this series.

T h e B o t t o m

Well now I have a basic understanding of the story. And I must say it is entertaining. This series will defiantly be one of my weekly animes. The art style is pleasing to look at, and characters have quite a bit of expression. However theres nothing really memorable from the audio. Except for Akito Takagi (Voiced by Hino, Satoshi) who delivers quite a bit of punch, which the other characters are lacking. If I had to give this series a score based on just the first episode I would have to say ‘8’. Which in my books means, ‘Good enough to watch the entire series, but not incredibly special. No fond memories were made.’

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

